The First Big Paleo Challenge

Hey friends!

So, today was interesting!  I had a lot of challenges cause my most favorite things (quick breads, dipped sweets), were all over.  Certainly not paleo.  However, I’m pretty proud of how I did, even if I slipped from the Paleo a bit.  It’s coming along!

For breakfast, I had soft-boiled eggs that I made the night before.  Making a second set right now because they were so enjoyable!

Nomnomnom.

For lunch, I tried to kill some of the romaine lettuce that was threatening to die in my fridge, so I had a big ole salad with (drained) canned chicken and half an avocado, seasoned with garlic salt, pepper and lathered in some Asian Sesame Lite dressing.  The dressing probably isn’t the most Paleo-friendly since I’m sure it has added sugar, but I looooove it.

I had quite a few dips into my Sunbutter jar before lunch, but not so many after (like 2!).  I went to the farmer’s market across the road during my lunch hour to pick up a delicious white nectarine (which I ate) and a yellow peach, which I’m going to eat tomorrow.  There, I had a baby piece of banana bread – very proud it was a small piece!

When I came back, we had a long meeting, and when we finished, there were these crazy fondue-dipped cake balls.  Holy crap.  I chose the smallest one that I could find, which was a white confetti cake covered in melted cookies n’ cream bar.  Oh my goddddd.  Everyone else had at least another, but I did manage to walk away!

Seriously guys.  Big steps.

Had an okay workout – good on strength, not so good on cardio.  I actually stopped about halfway through my desired arc trainer time because my legs were really, really stiff and not feeling so hot.  I had a huge massage yesterday at PT, and my legs just aren’t 100%.

After getting DRENCHED in what was pretty much a deluge in the span of 5 minutes, I made it home, and killed the rest of the chili I made on Sunday for dinner.

Oh, and this:

Broiled yellow peaches with honey, cashew butter and peach green tea.  And a few more dips of cashew butter.  And homemade hot chocolate (dark cocoa + dash of agave + dash of chocolate almond milk + 1/2c almond milk + water).

I think I ate enough to choke a horse.

Refocusing on Paleo for tomorrow!  Deep breaths.  Left with a great thought from a Primal blog I stumbled on: seek primal progress, not perfection.

Did You Know?

I’ve been told that I’m a quirky person.

I don’t know where they get the idea from.

But, to humor those individuals, I thought I’d create a list of quirky things about me. Let’s have at it!

  • Days it takes me to finish an entire jar of Sunbutter: 4 to 5.
  • Pets I own: one (horse), two (dogs), two (cats).
  • Places I’ve lived for longer than 6 months: 5.
  • Years I’ve been rowing/coxing: 4.
  • Times I’ve been told that my voice is “sensually deep”: too many, awkward times.
  • Years I’ve volunteered with the Red Cross: 7.
  • Times I’ve been caught in the middle of a huge political rally in Europe: 4.
  • Amount I can leg-press: I topped out around 275lbs, at one point
  • Most cities I’ve been to in one year: > 20.
  • Favorite books: The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand), The Agony and the Ecstasy (Irving Stone), The Great Gatsby
  • (F. Scott Fitzgerald), The Sword of Truth Series (Terry Goodkind), Children of the Earth Series (Jean Auel)
  • Siblings that I have: zero!
  • Favorite flavor: pumpkin
  • Surgeries I’ve had: one
  • Languages known other than English: read/write French very well, some American Sign Language
  • Percentage of time that what I say is actually serious: 25%
  • Secret ambition: Own a bed and breakfast in a massive country house or castle, in Europe.
  • Real ambition: Devise efficient and effective motor and language rehabilitation techniques for post-stroke and post-traumatic brain injury individuals.

The list goes on. All the more fun!  What defines you?