A to Z!

Love this blogging trend… and it makes me think hard!

The A to Z of Brie!  (look, I rhyme.)

A – Airplanes.  I spend a good portion of life on them (or so I feel like), and the funny thing is that I’m really not the biggest fan.  I used to be deathly afraid, and with my hip issues I’m always uncomfortable, but I know that they always take me to a place that is wonderful.

B – Bread.  My favorite thing.. what I always crave.. and the bane of my self control.  So many things in one!  My favorite types are sourdough and spongy oat/wheat combinations, and I really love making homemade bread.

C – Coxing.  I mean, let’s be real, how could this NOT be my “c”?

D – Dessert.  I always crave something sweet after finishing lunch and dinner.  Oftentimes, a great yogurt or fruit hits the spot, but sometimes you just need that spoonful of marshmallow fluff.  Yum.

E – England & Europe.  The place where my heart lies, and where my body will soon follow!  Come September, I’ll be settling in merry ole England to study at Cambridge.

F – Family.  My parents have supported me through everything, and I can’t wait for them to hop the pond to visit!

G – Gates.  As in, Mr. Gates himself.  The Gates Cambridge Trust is paying for my entire PhD at Cambridge (living costs included), and I couldn’t be more honored to be a part of this network.  I’m looking forward to meeting wonderful, world-changing individuals, and having the opportunity to expand my knowledge at, arguably, the greatest university in the world.

H – Hard-boiled eggs.  I might regret using my “h” for this later, but right now, I’m obsessed with hard-boiled eggs.  Sometimes I medium-boil them (so that the yellow is solid but delightfully fluffy), and sometimes I soft-boiled them so that they split open on my salad or toast.  Now I’m craving one.. crap.

I – Ice cream.  The thing that hates my stomach, but that I love most.  My favorite flavors include Mint Chocolate Chip, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, and recently, Ben and Jerry’s Greek Yogurt varieties.  I just did recently did a product review of Blueberry Vanilla Graham.

068

J – Joking.  About 95% of what I say is sarcastic or humorous.  Don’t take life too seriously!

K – Kitchen.  The best place in any home.  I have no idea how I lived without a kitchen in my immediate vicinity in college for two years.  Seriously, I feel like I practically live there.

L – Long books.  Whenever I walk into a bookstore, I ignore any book that appears to be shorter than 300 pages.  I don’t know why – I just gravitate to the longer novels, etc.  It’s something that I’ve always done.. as if I judge quality by length?

M – Music. I have a downright huge range of musical loves, ranging from classic rock to bluegrass, and with a raging love of rap.  Some of my workout playlists should be rated R.

N – Neuroscience.  What I will pursue for my PhD – specifically, stroke rehabilitation.  It’s such a cool, growing discipline, and I can’t wait to learn more!

075

O – Opportunities. I’ve had so many wonderful ones, thanks to school, Red Cross, etc., and I can’t speak enough to people about making the leap.  Go for things even if you have a hesitation.  The worst that could happen would be for something to not work out – but how would you know if you don’t try?

P – Pumpkin.  My favorite fall flavor.  I love pumpkin ice cream, pumpkin pie, pumpkin coffee, pumpkin mousse, pumpkin muffins… no, really, just feed me pumpkin.

Q – Quirky.  Me.

R – Red Cross.  I’ve volunteered for these guys for almost 7 years, and have loved every minute.  Their mission is incredible, and they treat their volunteers with immense respect.

009

Meeting with South American Red Cross societies in Barranquilla, Colombia.

S – Sammy.  My cockapoo (cocker spaniel + poodle) mix, who isn’t the brightest creature on the planet, but is certainly the most kind hearted… and darn cute.

IMGP8157

I also have a few more animals in my household…. (minus my cat)

IMGP8304IMGP8252

T – Thanksgiving. Most say Christmas is their favorite holiday, but I prefer Thanksgiving because of the family and the food!

U – University.  I like to think I’ll be in University, somehow, for the rest of my life.  My brain flourishes in this setting, so hopefully I’ll be a research Professor as a career!

V – Volunteering. Love the rush it gives me, and love meeting new people.

W – Working Out.  Ah, the obligatory “fitness” shout-out.  I’m trying to figure out the best way to get a good workout with my hip limitations.

X – X-ray.  I get so many of them!

Y – Ya’ll.  A hilariously Southern phrase that I think is hilarious, and probably overuse.

Z – Zoo-school.  I went to a special program during my junior year of high school that sent me half-day to the Columbus Zoo to study the drill monkeys.  By far one of the coolest experiences of my life!

Leave a Reply

