London 2012!

I must say that I’m glad I’m not going to England during the games (I hate crowds) but I sure am excited to WATCH them!

Here are the events/athletes I’m excited to watch…

USA Women’s Soccer

Okay, okay, so I did play soccer for 15 years, but still, this team is incredible.  Their record with this type of competition is something like 21 wins and 1 loss.  They are the defending Olympics champs, and absolutely wonderful athletes.

I saw (live) the USA women’s soccer team play together right after they won the 1999 women’s world cup, made famous by this picture:

I’ve also met her a few times!  If you didn’t see this penalty shootout, or Brandi’s game-winner, take a peak: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbTiiAtLXnE

Usain Bolt

Arguably the fastest man to ever grace the earth.

I remember watching him absolutely destroy the men’s 100m sprint world record some years ago, and he just keeps going.  He seems to have some competition from a fellow Jamaican teammate this year, so I’m hoping it pushes Bolt to run faster.

Incredible athlete.

Jordyn Wieber

I always watch the gymnastics portion in its entirety, and definitely push for the younger gymnasts!  Shawn Johnson and Nastia Liukin battled it out last Olympics, and it looks to be another battle by the youngins’ in London!

Ryan Lochte & Michael Phelps

Along with being pretty easy on the eyes (understatement), these two boys are set to break some Olympic records: Ryan in his own events, and Phelps to break the most Olympic medals ever achieved by a single athlete.

Best done shirtless.

USA Rowing

This one was obvious, right guys?

The paralympic team and olympic teams look grand, so I’m routing for them all the way!

 

OH MAN, I love the Olympics.  I’m not moving from my couch all weekend… well, except to workout.  All in the spirit of athleticism!

Who are you most excited to see?

2 thoughts on “London 2012!

Leave a comment