Recipe of the Week: Apple, Onion & Sausage Frittata

I love sweet/savory combinations, so this one really hit the spot – and it’s packed with protein!

Start with a semi-sweet apple (I used a Macintosh), and dice.  I choose to leave the skin on, but that’s up to you.  Dice a semi-sweet onion (or sweet onion, your choice), and throw both into an oil-sprayed pan.  Cook on medium heat until the apples start to brown and all are tender.

In the meantime, dice up your sausage.  I used tofurkey sausage, so it wasn’t really sausage, but it tastes the same!  I like heat in my sausages, so I always buy medium or spicy.

Whisk one whole egg plus 1/2 cup of egg whites and dash of milk in another container.  Salt and pepper liberally.   By the way, these measurements are purely guesses – I almost never measure.

When apples and onions are ready, turn the heat to low and pour the egg mixture overtop.  Sprinkle the diced sausage into the mixture.  Note: because I use tofurkey, my sausage was already cooked.  If you’re using real sausage, cook the sausage with the apples and onions.

When the bottom of the frittata solidifies and only the top is ‘wet’ looking, place in the oven and broil on high for about 4 minutes.  And, wha-lah:

Brunch heaven.

Serves 1 (huge portion) or 2!

Cheers, and happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

