Bad Self-Talk and Regret

I don’t have the best willpower.  To be honest, it’s probably pretty abysmal.  Sometimes, I “overeat” to the point of sickness – and I’m sad to say this happens at least once a week.

However, the worse is the day after, or even hours after.  The self-talk that begins in my head from the moment I realize I’ve overeaten too much is much worse than the feeling itself.

I start thinking things like, “how can I work this off?  How long do I need to go on the arc trainer for?  How little can I eat tomorrow?  Maybe I should just give up carbohydrates for a week.  I wonder if this fat burning supplement is on sale.  Should I just eat more in an attempt to forget that it happened?  I mean, I went off the deep end already, might as well keep going…”

I kid you not.  I think these things, at least once a day, if not more.  I get anxious thinking about eating out, even with friends, and making a poor choice or overeating.  I get anxious when I start to get hungry because I fear the onset of these judgments/thoughts.  It’s a constant struggle for equilibrium that I’ve had for many, many years.

if only I could be this calm in my head on this topic..

So, my question is for you, readers –

Have you any of you shared these thoughts?  What did you do about them?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bad Self-Talk and Regret

  1. I have struggled with the same thoughts and actions for years, sadly. I’m working on it tho! I’m def a work in progress. I’m determined to find balance. Best wishes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

