The 9-to-5

Or, in my case, the 8-to-4.

The lovely 8-hour work day in a cubicle that will kill every ounce of energy you thought you had for working out, getting things accomplished, cooking a great dinner, etc etc etc.

Here’s how I deal with the temptation to simply pass out on my couch after a long day at work….

  • Make sure to stand/walk around at least once per hour (it’s usually more).  Since I have terrible joints, this helps me physicaly, but it also helps me to mentally settle down for a few minutes and reconvene.
  • Schedule your appointment to workout as if it’s a very important meeting.  I have ‘gym’ pencilled into my calendar on the days that I intend to workout.
  • Prepare for success.  If I don’t pack a healthy breakfast, lunch and snack, I’ll eat the crap that’s put out in the office.  If I don’t pack my gym clothes and sneaks, I won’t workout.  Plan for success!
  • Be lenient with yourself.  I’m terrible at being self-degrading when I eat a cookie or snack that wasn’t planned for.  Sometimes, just let go, but keep it in moderation!
  • Eat lunch with friends.  Seriously, cubicle eating is the worst, and it kills the mental game.  Eat with friends!

have a bit of fun..

 How do you deal with it?

 

 

Leave a Reply

