My Favorite Oatmeal

GET IN MAH BELLY.

fluffy! chewy!

Anyhow.  I love oatmeal, but it doesn’t keep me full as long as I’d like.  So, I concocted this little guy to add a bit of flavor (without sugar or sweetness!) and protein!

Protein-Packed Oatmeal (with flavor infusion)

  • 1/2 cup uncooked oats (I like rolled, not quick)
  • 3-6 tbsp egg whites (depending on the consistency you like)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of brewed vanilla roibos or chai tea
  • dash of milk (I use almond)

Brew the tea, and let it brew to recommended time (usually 3-5minutes for tea bags).  Pour the oats into a microwave-safe bowl and add the egg whites and milk.  When tea is ready, pour desired quantity over the oats – for slightly thinner oats, make sure ot sufficiently cover the oats, probably 2-3 inches of tea on top of the oats.  I prefer rather thick oats, so I keep my tea/water-level closer to the oats.  Stir well, and microwave on power level 7-8 for 2 minutes.  Make sure to keep an eye on it in case it starts to puff and boil over, as it sometimes does!  Stir immediately, add more liquid (if you desire thinner oats) and microwave for 10 second intervals until desired consistency is achieved.

close-up!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

