Fitness & My Life

I played competitive soccer for something like 14 years, but in the last few years or so, was constantly plagued by some kind of injury (foot, knee, etc).  So, when I entered college, I thought I’d switch up sports and try out rowing.  Within the first 6 months of rowing, the sport really aggrevated a genetic hip deformity (impingement) that I had previously been totally unaware of, and also ignited tendinitis in most of the major tendons in my pelvis.  Good stuff, right? 

normal…

 (^^^ cute puffy workout hair…)

That was back in 2008, and since then, I’ve had arthroscopic hip surgery on my left hip to repair a labral tear, shave down my femur and socket, almost completely sever my iliopsoas tendon (to elongate it) and attempt to fix the impingement.  I still have a lot of annoying scar tissue there, but the hip is better.  However, now my right hip is on the fritz, so I have to be really careful with the type of workouts I do.  Oh, and did I mention I’m prone to tendon strains throughout the rest of my body, too?  My right wrist is constantly in pain, and I often wear a brace on the bad days.

I’m only 22.  Bad news, right?

So, all the workouts you see on here are 1) low impact and 2) highlight ambitious me who wants to stay in shape.  I’m not the “skinny girl” type of body, as I build muscle insanely fast, and I’m always endeavoring to get in the best shape that I can, with my injuries and body limitations.

I’m planning on highlighting a few of my choice workouts (favorite machine: arc trainer), and some strength stuff!

Today, the plan is:

IntervalBuster2

Apologies for the awful photo quality!  I don’t have my Photoshop at hand.

Leave a Reply

